Re-Blog: SOTU Address (Why is it televised?)

I wrote this after last years SOTU.

 

Still wondering why we televise the State of the Union Address.

 

Here is original post:

https://tghaberkorn.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/why-do-we-televise-the-state-of-the-union-address/

 

Here are updated links:

2013 SOTU –

http://www.slate.com/blogs/the_slatest/2013/02/12/obama_sotu_2013_text_president_obama_s_state_of_the_union_speech_as_prepared.html

 

Official Republican Rebuttal from Marco Rubio –

http://www.slate.com/blogs/the_slatest/2013/02/12/obama_sotu_2013_text_president_obama_s_state_of_the_union_speech_as_prepared.html

 

And just to add to the confusion and muddle the message even more, here is Rand Paul’s Tea Party rebuttal –

http://www.politico.com/story/2013/02/tea-party-rebuttal-text-of-rand-paul-response-87557.html

 

 

RightWay

I am sure many others have asked this question, but I don’t feel like google-ing to find out what others have to say about the topic. So, instead, I will make it painfully obvious that I probably don’t know what I’m talking about by diving into an unsourced, off-the-top-of-my-head type rant. I can get away with this because I am not a professional journalist or blogger (though, my methods seem to be the same as those who are actually paid for their pablum).

I’ve no real idea why it has taken me so long to wonder, but just this morning the thought struck me: in keeping with the spirit of the Constitution, we probably shouldn’t allow Presidents to use the State of the Union Address as some kind of political monologue. After all, the Constitutional purpose of this address is twofold:

  1. to Inform members of Congress about the current state…

View original post 507 more words

One thought on “Re-Blog: SOTU Address (Why is it televised?)

Leave a Reply

